Implementation of National Curriculum Framework for Foundation Stage -2022 from the academic session 2023-24

F.No. CBSE/Aff/2023
Date: 17.03.2023
Circular No: Aff-08/2023
All the Heads of Schools Affiliated to CBSE
Subject: Implementation of National Curriculum Framework for Foundation Stage -2022 from the academic session 2023-24-reg.
1. NCFFS 2022 has been developed by the NCERT as per the mandate of the National Education Policy  2020  to  outline  the  competencies  and  learning  outcomes,  general  principles  and approaches  that  should  guide  teaching  and  learning  at  foundational  stage.  It  serves  as  a guideline  for  schools and  teachers  to  design  and  develop  curricula,  syllabi,  and  teaching materials that align with the national educational goals.
Implementation of National Curriculum Framework for Foundation Stage
2. CBSE has adopted National Curriculum Framework for Foundational Stage – 2022 and the new structure  of  five-year  education  at  foundational  stage  (from  class Nursery to class II) will be introduced in the session 2023-24 in those CBSE schools which offer education at foundational stage to students in the age group of 3-8 years.

3. Schools   offering   foundational   or   preparatory   education   are advised   to   adhere   to   the recommendations  regarding  curriculum,  pedagogy,  assessment  and  other  areas  described  in detail in the NCFFS-2022.

4. The  NCF-FS  includes many  examples  and  illustrations  which play  a  critical  role  in  its implementation. They help to clarify abstract concepts, reinforce learning, and make new ideas more  accessible  to  practicing  teachers.  Myriad  examples  are  aptly  incorporated  to  enhance understanding, foster engagement, and elaborate concrete ways concepts can be implemented in day-to-day teaching. So, it is critical that teachers look at these illustrations and contextualize them according to the needs and contexts of children.
5. While  schools  offering classes  I  to  X  /  XII  may  make  effort to  gradually  augment  the infrastructural requirements to include pre-primary classes, schools already running foundational classes may continue to offer 3 years of pre-primary education. Detailed instructions regarding submission of OASIS data pertaining to foundational classes (Pre-Primary classes) shall follow.

6. Teacher’s qualifications remain same as per the existing National Council of Teachers Education’s notification no 62-1/2012/NCTE(N&S) dated November 12, 2014 and its subsequent amendments.

7. Initial pages of the Curriculum Document for Secondary Schools for the session 2023-24 contain detailed academic guidelines for handholding schools.

8. Schools can also go through the NCF-FS-2022 document available at for detailed information.

Anurag Tripathi
Copy to the respective Heads  of  Directorates,  Organizations  and Institutions  as  indicated below with  a request to disseminate the information to all the schools under their jurisdiction:

1. The Commissioner, Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan, 18 Institutional Area, Shaheed Jeet Singh Marg, New Delhi-16
2. The Commissioner, Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti, B-15, Sector-62, Institutional Area, Noida-201309
3. The Secretary, Eklavya Model Residential Schools (EMRS), Ministry of Tribal Affairs, Government of India.
4. The Commissioner of School Education, Department of School Education, Govt. of Andhra Pradesh
5. The Secretary, Sainik Schools Society, Room No. 101, D-1 Wing, Sena Bhawan, New Delhi-110001.
6. The Chairman, Odisha Adarsha Vidyalaya Sangathan, N-1/9, Near Doordarshan Kendra, PO Sainik School Nayapalli, Bhubaneswar, Odhisha-751005.
7. The Director of Education, Directorate of Education, Govt. of NCT of Delhi, Old Secretariat, Delhi-110 054
8. The Director of Public Instructions (Schools), Union Territory Secretariat, Sector 9, Chandigarh-160017
9. The Director of Education, Govt. of Sikkim, Gangtok, Sikkim –737101
10. The Director of School Education, Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh, Itanagar –791 111
11. The Director of Education, Govt. of A&N Islands, Port Blair – 744101
12. The Director of Education, S.I.E., CBSE Cell, VIP Road, Junglee Ghat, P.O. 744103, A&N Island
13. The Director of Education, School Education Department, Govt. of U.T. of Ladakh.
14. The Director, Central Tibetan School Administration, ESSESS Plaza, Community Centre, Sector -3, Rohini, Delhi
15. The Additional Director General of Army Education, A –Wing, Sena Bhawan, DHQ, PO, New Delhi- 110001
16. The Secretary AWES, Integrated Headquarters of MoD (Army), FDRC Building No. 202, Shankar Vihar (Near APS), Delhi Cantt-110010
17. Deputy Secretary to Chairperson, CBSE
18. CVO/All HoDs/Regional Directors of the Board.
19. Regional Officers/Heads of CoEs of CBSE with the request to send this circular to all the Heads of the affiliated schools of the Board in their respective regions
20. In charge IT Unit with the request to put this Circular on the CBSE Academic Website
21. In-Charge, Library
22. Record File
Anurag Tripathi

नोट :- हमारे वेबसाइट पर ऐसी जानकारी रोजाना आती रहती है, तो आप ऐसी ही सरकारी योजनाओं की जानकारी पाने के लिए हमारे वेबसाइट से जुड़े रहे।
लेटेस्‍ट अपडेट के लिए  Facebook --- Twitter -- Telegram से  अवश्‍य जुड़ें