Ladakh and Anantnag Parliamentary Constituencies in J&K to go to Pollsin Phase V of General Elections 2019

Press Information Bureau 
Government of India
Election Commission
02-May-2019 18:40 IST

Ladakh and Anantnag Parliamentary Constituencies in J&K to go to Polls in Phase V of General Elections 2019 

3.03% increase in Electors in Ladakh PC since last General Elections 4 Candidates to contest from Ladakh and 18 from Anantnag PC 1,254 polling stations have been set up for Ladakh and Anantnag PC in Phase V Polls
In the Fifth phase of General Elections 2019, Ladakh Parliamentary Constituency (PC) in Jammu & Kashmir, along with the 3rd part of Anantnag PC,would be going to polls on 6th May. Kargil and Leh districts would be covered in Ladakh (PC No. 4),along with Shopian and Pulwamain Anantnag (PC No. 3). All the PC seats in Ladakh and Anantnag PC belong to the General category. 

As per the data sourced from CEO (Jammu & Kashmir) website, there are a total of 6,93,692general electors in the two PCs, out of which 3,57,879 are general male electors,3,35,799 general female electors and 14 third gender electors. There are 3,806 service electors and 4,388 persons with disabilities (PWD) electors in Phase V. A total of 1,254 polling stations have been set up for these two PCs during this phase. The details are as below:

Phase Parliamentary Constituency District General Male Electors General Female Electors General Third Gender Electors Total General Electors Total Service Electors Total Polling Stations Total PWD
V Ladakh Leh 42695 42659 02 85356 1481 294 436
Kargil 44057 42405 01 86463 1667 265 1647
Anantnag Pulwama 181259 169508 06 350773 541 450 1297
Shopian 89868 81227 05 171100 117 245 1008
Phase V Total 357879 335799 14 693692 3806 1254 4388
(Source – Website of CEO, Jammu & Kashmir)

The data sourced from ECI website shows that in General Election 2014, there were a total of 1,66,763 electors in theLadakh PC. This number has grown to 1,71,819during General Elections 2019, which is an increase of 5,056 (3.03%) electors since last General Elections.

As per the Form 7A details on the ECI Website, 4 candidatesfrom different Political Parties are contesting fromLadakhPC and 18 candidates from Anantnag PC. The Political Party-wise list of contesting candidates is given below:
Phase Parliamentary Constituency Political Party Candidate Symbol
V Ladakh Recognized National and State Political Parties
Bharatiya Janata
JamyangTseringNamgyal Lotus
Indian National
RigzinSpalbar Hand
Other Candidates
Independent Asgar Ali Karbalai Cup &
Sajjad Hussain Battery
Anantnag Recognized National and State Political Parties
Sofi Yousuf Lotus
Indian National
Ghulam Ahmad Mir Hand
Jammu & Kashmir
HasnainMasoodi Plough
Jammu & Kashmir
Peoples Democratic
Mehbooba Mufti Inkpot &Pen
Jammu & Kashmir
National Panthers
Nisar Ahmad Wani Bicycle
Registered Political Parties
Samajwadi Party
Surinder Singh Key
National Party
Sanjay Kumar Dhar Tooth Brush
Jammu And
Kashmir People
Ch. Zaffar Ali Apple
Other Candidates
Independent Imtiyaz Ahmad Rather GannaKissan
RidwanaSanam Diamond
Riyaz Ahmad Bhat Computer
ZubairMasoodi Gas Cylinder
Mirza Sajad Hussain
Shams Khwaja Green Chilli
Ali Mohammad Wani Helicopter
Gh. MohdWani Table
Kyasir Ahmad Sheikh Bat
Manzoor Ahmad Khan Pen Stand
(Source – Website of ECI)


Popular Posts

Index of Eight Core Industries (Base: 2011-12=100) March, 2019

Index of Eight Core Industries (Base: 2011-12=100) February, 2019

Index of Eight Core Industries (Base: 2011-12=100) May, 2019